Setup Events Stream Cluster in Cloud Pak for Integration.

Mohamed Hassan
3 min readMar 13, 2021

Learning Objectives

In this tutorial you will learn how to setup Event Streams Cluster in Cloud Pak for Integration version 2020.3.1 which running in Red hat OpenShift Cluster.

Prerequisites

To complete this tutorial, you need

· Red Hat OpenShift cluster in your preferred Cloud. In this tutorial, I’m using IBM Red Hat OpenShift Cluster.

· Cloud Pak for Integration in you preferred Cloud. In this tutorial, I’m using Cloud Pak for Integration in IBM Cloud.

Steps:

Log in to your Cloud Pak for Integration.

1. On the initial screen, click Runtimes tab.

2. Click Create instance button.

3. Click Kafka Cluster tile.

4. Click Next button.

5. Event streams come up with 6 clusters options. You can review the installation consideration to select the cluster’s size that fit your needs. In this tutorial, I will use the minimal production cluster. Click on Minimal production tile.

6. Click Next button.

7. Enter you cluster Name.

8. Accept the License by change the toggle button to on.

9. Select the Storage type that will be used for Kafka brokers. In this tutorial, I use persistent-claim.

10. Select Kafka brokers’ Storage class that is available for your cluster. In this tutorial, I use Openshift cluster in IBM Cloud, so I use one of IBM Cloud storage classes. I use ibmc-block-gold.

11. Select the Storage type that will be used for the cluster ZooKeeper. In this tutorial, I use persistent-claim.

12. Select ZooKeeper’s Storage class that is available for your cluster. In this tutorial, I use Openshift cluster in IBM Cloud, so I use one of IBM Cloud storage classes. I use ibmc-block-gold.

13. You can review/edit YAML configuration if needed.

14. Click create button.

I use the default values for the product use, Event Streams’ version, number of kafka brokers and storage size for Kafka and ZooKeeper. You can adjust the values as per your need.

15. During the creation time, the cluster’s status will be pending.

16. The cluster should take few minutes to be created. You can check the cluster’s creation details by click on the status column.

17. Once the cluster status is changed to be Ready, you can start use your cluster.

Next: To Learn how to Generate Kafka credentials to connect to Event Streams Cluster, you can refer to this tutorial.

--

--